National Sports Awards


Imperative Points to think about the National Sports Awards.


1) On 29th August 2015, President Pranab Mukherjee exhibited the National Sports Awards in different classes at a capacity held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi


2) August 29, is seen as the National Sports Day in India. This day denote the conception commemoration of the Indian Hockey Wizard Major Dhyan Chand


3) Dhyan Chand broadly known as ‘The Wizard’ was conceived on 29th August 1905 in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh


4) He had begun playing hockey at 16 years old strictly when joining the Army


5) He is considered as the Greatest field hockey player ever for his radiant ball control


6) He had scored more than 1000 objectives in his universal profession


7) He won 3 Olympic gold awards in the next years


  • 1928 – Amsterdum

  • 1932 – Los Angeles

  • 1936 – Berlin


8) On this National Sports Day consistently, the accompanying National Sports Awards are gave to games identities by the President of India


  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

  • Arjuna Award

  • Dronacharya Award

  • Dhyan Chand Award

  • Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014-15




  • The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna(RGKR) Award is India’s most astounding honor given for accomplishment in games given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

  • It comprises of a decoration, a look of honor and a money prize of Rs. 7,50,000

  • RGKR 2014-15 was offered on Sania Mirza for her extraordinary accomplishments in session of Tennis

  • Presently she is positioned as number 1 ladies’ player in Women’s Double classification

  • She is the second Tennis player to win this recompense, Leander Paes being the first tennis player to win this honor in 1997


READ  Daily Current Affairs - 17th July 2017

Other prestigious recompenses won by Sania Mirza beforehand are as per the following:


1) Arjuna Award – 2004


2) WTA New Comer of the Year – 2005


3) Padma Shri – 2006




  • It is a recompense given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for the incredibleness in games instructing

  • The grant contains a bronze statuette, a look of honor and a money recompense of Rs. 5,00,000


The Dronacharya Awards 2015 champs are as per the following


1) Naval Singh-Athletics (Javelin toss) Para-games mentor


2) Anoop Singh-Wrestling mentor


3) Harbans Singh-Athletics mentor


4) Swatantar Raj Singh-Boxing mentor


5) Nihar Ameen-Swimming mentor




  • This is a recompense given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to perceive extraordinary accomplishment in National Sports

  • This recompense embodies a bronze statuette, a look of honor and a money prize of Rs. 5,00,000


The Arjuna Awards 2015 victors are as per the following:


1) Abhilasha Mhatre-Kabaddi


– She won gold award in 2014 Asian Games


2) Mandeep Jangra-Boxing


– He won silver decoration in 2014 Commonwealth Games


3) Sharath M Gayakwad-Para-Swimming


4) Manjeet Chillar-Kabaddi


5) Rohit Sharma-Cricket


– He is the main player to hit twofold century in ODIs with a score of 264 keeps running against Sri Lanka


6) Dipa Karmakar-Gymnastics


– She is the first ladies athlete who won a bronze decoration at 2014 Commonwealth Games


7) Sreejesh P R-Hockey


– At the 2014 Asian Games he featured in India’s Gold award win by sparing two punishment strokes


READ  Asian Games 2014 - Incheon, South Korea

8)  M R Poovamma-Athletics (4X400 meters transfer)


– Currently she is positioned no.2 in Asia


– She had won gold decoration at the 2014 Asian Games


9)  Sandeep Kumar-Archery


– He won gold decoration in the Asian Games 2014


10) Swaran Singh-Rowing


11) Anup Kumar Yama-Roller Skating.


12) Jitu Rai-Shooting


– He turned into the no.1 shooter on the planet by winning gold award in both the 2014 Commonwealth diversions and Maribor World Cup


13) Sathish Kumar-Weightlifting


14) Bajrang-Wrestling


15) Babita Kumari-Wrestling


16) Y Sanathoi Devi-Wushu


17) Kidambi Srikanth-Badminton


– He is the first Indian to win Gold in Swiss Open Grand Prix Title 2015


Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014-15:


1) This grant is named after Indian and Nepalese Sherpa mountain climber Tenzing Norgay and is given by Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports


2) He is one of the first 2-people known not the summit of Mount Everest on 29th May 1953


3) The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014-15 grant victors are as per the following


  • Jot Singh – mountaineer

  • Arunima Sinha – mountaineer

  • Lt. Col. Satyendra Verma – Sky plunging

  • Col. Satish Chander Sharma – mountaineer




1) This grant is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for lifetime accomplishment in games and diversions


2) The grant is named after the fanciful Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand


3) The grant involves a plaque, a look of honor and a money grant of Rs. 5,00,000


READ  Daily Current Affairs - 3rd July 2017

4) This year Dhyan Chand Award champs are as per the following


  • Romeo James-Hockey

  • Shiv Prakash Mishra-Tennis

  • P Nair-Volleyball



Facebook Comments

Author Profile

IBPS Preparation Team
IBPS Preparation Team
At IBPS Preparation,We provide pathway for any candidate who wishes to shine in the recruitment process of IBPS.
© Copyright 2017 - All Rights Reserved | DesignzRush (OPC) Pvt. Ltd.
Complete Solution for Banking Exams in India