Sports Awards in India

Sports Awards in India

here is come sports awards in India.

Arjuna Awards

  • The Arjuna Awards were established by the Indian Government in 1961
  •  It is given for the excellent performance by the sportspersons in various events.
  • The award holds a cash prize of INR 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
  • As per revised guidelines by Government, a sportsperson must have a constant excellent performance for the previous three years at international level to be eligible for the award, along with extraordinary qualities like leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
  • Arjuna Awards Recipients of 2013 are
      • Chekrovolu Swuro, Archery
      • Ranjith Maheshwari, Athletics
      • P.V. Sindhu, Badminton
      • Kavita Chahal, Boxing
      • Rupesh Shah, Billiards & Snooker
      • Virat Kohli, Cricket
      • Abhijeet Gupta, Chess
      • Gagan Jeet, Bhullar Golf
      • Saba Anjum, Hockey
      • Rajkumari Rathore, Shooting
      • Joshna Chinnappa, Squash
      • Mouma Das, Table Tennis
      • Neha Rathi, Wrestling
      • Dharmender Dalal, Wrestling
      • Amit Kumar Saroha, Athletics (Para)

      Dronacharya Award

      • The Dronacharya Award was Instituted in 1985
      • The Dronacharya Award is presented by the Indian Government for brilliance in sports coaching.
      • The award consists of a bronze figurine of Dronacharya, a cash price of Rupees 500,000 and a scroll of honor.
      • Shri B.I. Fernandez is the First foreign Coach who was awarded by Dronacharya Award in 2012.
      • Dronacharya Award Recipients of 2013 are Poornima Mahato (Archery), Mahavir Singh(Boxing),Narinder Singh Saini (Hockey), K P Thomas     (Athletics), Raj Singh(Wrestling).

      Dhyan Chand Award

      • It is awarded to recognize outstanding lifetime achievement by Indians in Sports and Games.
      • It is presented by the Indian Government. Initiated in 2002,
      • The award holds a cash prize of INR 500,000, a figurine, ceremonial dress and a scroll of honor.
      • It is named after the renowned player Dhyan Chand (Indian hockey).
      • Dhyan Chand Award  Recipients of 2013 are Mary D’souza Sequeira, Athletics, Syed Ali, Hockey, Anil Mann, Wrestling and Girraj Singh, Para Sports (Athletics)
      READ  Common wealth Games 2014 IBPS

      Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

      • The award was initiated in 1991-92 to offer a highest national tribute in the field of sports.
      • The award holds a cash prize of INR 750,000 and a scroll of honour.
      • The award was formulated to present the utmost honour for exceptional sporting performance, whether by an individual or a team in all sporting disciplines in a year.
      • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Recipients of 2013 is Ronjan Sodhi for Shooting
      • First awardee(s) of this AwardsViswanathan Anand (Chess)
      • The award was not conferred upon any sportsperson or team in the year 1993–94

      Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Award

      • The award is Maulana Abul Kalam Azad(MAKA)Award is primarily a sports award that is basically given to inter-university tournament champions

      Ekalavya Award

      • It is awarded by Government of Karnataka for the outstanding performance in sports.

      Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award

      • The award was instituted in 1978
      • The Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award, is an award given by the Government of Punjab for excellence and achievement in the service of Punjab in the field of Sport
      • The award was instituted in 1978 it consists of a trophy of Maharaja Ranjit Singh, honouree citation and 1 lakh Rupees
      • First person in history to win the Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award was Olympian Pargat Singh
      • The award was suspended for 10 years between 1996 to 2005 and initiated again in 2006
      • This can be at the Olympic level, World Championship level, national and other international sporting arenas
      Facebook Comments

      Author Profile

      IBPS Preparation Team
      IBPS Preparation Team
      At IBPS Preparation,We provide pathway for any candidate who wishes to shine in the recruitment process of IBPS.
      © Copyright 2017 - All Rights Reserved | DesignzRush (OPC) Pvt. Ltd.
      Complete Solution for Banking Exams in India